This year’s AHA NSW Awards for Excellence where held The Star Event Centre and attracted more than 600 nominations spread across 42 categories.

John Whelan CEO of AHA NSW said the nominees were representative of the high quality of the state’s operators and venues.

Big winners on the night included Arthur Laundy and partner Fraser Short who took out the prestigious Hotel of the Year – City Award with the Watson’s Bay  Boutique Hotel, which also picked up the Best Social Media Activity.

Hotel of the Year – Country went to The Sunken Monkey in Erina which also won Best Nightclub/Nightlife Venue for its’ Proud Mary Club.

In other major awards, Group Hotel Operator of The Year was awarded to Public House Management Group who also won three other award on the night.  Single Hotel Operator of the Year was won by Des Kennedy and the Oriental Hotel, Mudgee.

Sydney hotelier and industry stalwart Patrick Gallagher received a standing ovation when he was inducted into the AHA NSW Hall of Fame as this year’s recipient of the Cyril Maloney Medal.

Click here to read the full list of winners >>

Feature image:  Watson’s Bay Hotel, Hotel of the Year – City